Welcome to our new Event Calendar — your “go-to” place to find out what’s happening in the arts in Ojai. You can view events by list or calendar! You can also search for an event or date.

Do you have an event you’d like listed? Email us.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

NPR Journalist and Author at Literary Salon

March 25, 2019 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Paddy Hirsch, an author, journalist, broadcaster and former British Royal Marines officer, will be the featured speaker at next Ojai Art Center Literary Branch Salon. He currently works for NPR, where he edits and appears on The Indicator from Planet Money, a daily business and economics podcast. He will talk on how he used his journalist background and applied it to his approach to writing fiction.

His first novel, The Devil’s Half Mile (Tor/Forge) a historical thrill, was originally set out to be a non-fiction project as a result of his work as a financial journalist.  The book is set on Wall Street in 1799 as the American economy was recovering from a financial panic triggered by an orgy of stock speculation seven years earlier.  Non-fiction soon turned into fiction, allowing Paddy to draw parallels between Wall Street then and Wall Street today, and the religious and racial tensions that resulted as NYC rapidly grew.  For fans of The Alienist and Gangs of New York and those who were repulsed and fascinated by Gordon Gekko’s creed, “greed is good,” this is a must-read book.

His sequel to The Devil’s Half Mile, is titled Hudson’s Kill and will be released in September 2019.  Paddy is also the author of Man vs. Markets, Economics Explained, Plain and Simple, a non-fiction book that uses analogy and humor to explain how Wall Street works.

Please join Paddy on Monday, March 25, at 7:00 p.m. in the gallery at the Ojai Art Center.  His speech will be followed by a Q&A, a reception, and book signing.  Suggested donation, $5.00

Details

Date:
March 25, 2019
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, ,
efficitur. ut vel, commodo libero. diam nec Praesent Sed at risus.