NPR Journalist and Author at Literary Salon

NPR Journalist and Author at Literary Salon

Paddy Hirsch, an author, journalist, broadcaster and former British Royal Marines officer, will be the featured speaker at next Ojai Art Center Literary Branch Salon. He currently works for NPR, where he edits and appears on The Indicator from Planet Money, a daily business and economics podcast. He will talk on how he used his journalist background and applied it to his approach to writing fiction.

His first novel, The Devil’s Half Mile (Tor/Forge) a historical thrill, was originally set out to be a non-fiction project as a result of his work as a financial journalist.  The book is set on Wall Street in 1799 as the American economy was recovering from a financial panic triggered by an orgy of stock speculation seven years earlier.  Non-fiction soon turned into fiction, allowing Paddy to draw parallels between Wall Street then and Wall Street today, and the religious and racial tensions that resulted as NYC rapidly grew.  For fans of The Alienist and Gangs of New York and those who were repulsed and fascinated by Gordon Gekko’s creed, “greed is good,” this is a must-read book.

His sequel to The Devil’s Half Mile, is titled Hudson’s Kill and will be released in September 2019.  Paddy is also the author of Man vs. Markets, Economics Explained, Plain and Simple, a non-fiction book that uses analogy and humor to explain how Wall Street works.

Please join Paddy on Monday, March 25, at 7:00 p.m. in the gallery at the Ojai Art Center.  His speech will be followed by a Q&A, a reception, and book signing.  Suggested donation, $5.00

id diam Aliquam elementum commodo id